1-16-17 Daily E-Votional

herding-catsMonday, Jan. 16

Ephesians 4:1-16

Herding cats. Sometimes I feel like I’m trying to herd cats. While this would be no surprise if I was describing work I might be doing with junior highs, I am not thinking of that area at all. The feeling of herding cats often occurs when I’m trying to get myself focused in the day.

On any give day, my mind will be racing in a hundred different directions when I need it to be focused in one area. The ideas and thoughts are racing around at such a pace and in such a random way, there isn’t enough time to write all of those ideas down. Internally I’m going after each thought, trying to corral it in a “to-do” area.

If my computer is in front of me I’ll be moving from a word document to a google search to the calculator to my email and a dictionary search. I may be thinking of Paul’s ministry which takes me in a whole new direction at which time I may even go to the Presbyterian website to check out mission options. So, in my own mind, I work with the idea of herding cats every day.

Much like the dog in search of squirrel, I have to rein myself in when I start to wander. Like just a second ago, my email produced a little sound that was telling me I received a new email in my inbox. I had to stay focused on this writing so that I wouldn’t shift my train of thought once again. How can I be attentive to the needs of others if I have chaos going on inside myself?

4:1   In light of all this, here’s what I want you to do. While I’m locked up here, a prisoner for the Master, I want you to get out there and walk—better yet, run!—on the road God called you to travel. I don’t want any of you sitting around on your hands. I don’t want anyone strolling off, down some path that goes nowhere.  2 And mark that you do this with humility and discipline—not in fits and starts, but steadily, pouring yourselves out for each other in acts of love,  3 alert at noticing differences and quick at mending fences.

4   You were all called to travel on the same road and in the same direction, so stay together, both outwardly and inwardly.  5 You have one Master, one faith, one baptism,  6 one God and Father of all, who rules over all, works through all, and is present in all. Everything you are and think and do is permeated with Oneness.

7   But that doesn’t mean you should all look and speak and act the same. Out of the generosity of Christ, each of us is given his own gift.  8 The text for this is,

He climbed the high mountain,

He captured the enemy and seized the booty,

He handed it all out in gifts to the people.

9   It’s true, is it not, that the One who climbed up also climbed down, down to the valley of earth?  10 And the One who climbed down is the One who climbed back up, up to highest heaven. He handed out gifts above and below, filled heaven with his gifts,  11 filled earth with his gifts. He handed out gifts of apostle, prophet, evangelist, and pastor-teacher 12 to train Christians in skilled servant work, working within Christ’s body, the church,  13 until we’re all moving rhythmically and easily with each other, efficient and graceful in response to God’s Son, fully mature adults, fully developed within and without, fully alive like Christ.

14   No prolonged infancies among us, please. We’ll not tolerate babes in the woods, small children who are an easy mark for impostors.  15 God wants us to grow up, to know the whole truth and tell it in love—like Christ in everything. We take our lead from Christ, who is the source of everything we do.  16 He keeps us in step with each other. His very breath and blood flow through us, nourishing us so that we will grow up healthy in God, robust in love.

This section attests to the oneness of the church. The church is a complex organism, with many parts, each in its own place and with its own function, working together in harmony. Its basic principle is love and Christ is its head and directive force. At its very foundation, the proper functioning of the body of Christ is a spirit of humility, gentleness, and mutual support on the part of the members and the variety of talents and tempers they bring to the mix.

What are some of the ways in which you really feel you need focus in your life? When you have many things that are demanding your attention, how do you finally get your head wrapped around just one thing? What are some situations you have been in where you feel like you are herding cats? Have a day!

In Conversation with a child today: Ask a child to tell you how they would collect pieces of paper blowing in the wind

Remember in Prayer: Heidi, Kristin, Barbara, Bart, Karen, Terecia, Jim, Angela, Tim, Heidi, Jeremy, Dick, Diane, Frank & Jean, Carolyn & family, Dennis, Barb, Sue, Michael Paul’s mother, Vivian

And those experiencing loss – family & friends of: Nita, Nancy, Edward, Doris, Angela

Prayer: We thank you for this day, O God. Thank you for the variety of gifts you give each of us. When we get off track, bring us back to you. We’ve each got lots on our minds and it’s so very easy to get distracted. Direct our thoughts to be focused on you. We’ll let you take it from there. Amen

Your E-Votional Servant 

Lucia

© 2017 Lucia Oerter

All rights reserved

Email Lucia

The Message Bible – contemporary translation

A ministry at Pines Presbyterian Church, 12751 Kimberley Lane, Houston, TX

 

Explore posts in the same categories: God Stuff

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.