1-15-17 Daily E-Votional

Danger DamSunday, Jan. 15

Psalm 40: 1-11

When I was probably 5 or 6 years of age, my father and his brothers had a boat they took on the river. I think it was a basic row boat with a small motor and without a lot of frills. Being part of a boating adventure sounded fun to me. I suspect that my mother wanted me to stay home, but I had most likely whined and ended up going on the boat trip. I am pretty sure my older brother was also along on the adventure.

I don’t remember anything remarkable about the trip except the end of the trip. That was the part where the boat ran out of gas and floated along in the river’s current. I thought it was just a nice way to roll along on the river; not too fast and not too slow. All of a sudden my brother and my uncles were in the water and I was the only one left in the boat. I don’t think I realized the scope of the imminent danger we were facing, but I’m a pretty quick study. Something had gone wrong and they were trying to get us to safety.

I will describe the danger like this. I could see that one of my uncles was holding the end of an oar with his arm, fully extended, while the other end of the oar was lodged against the edge of the dam. That oar was to keep the boat I was in from going over the edge. I know that my dad and uncles knew how to swim and they must have thought I was safer in the boat. Mostly, I felt more vulnerable in the boat.

I can’t tell you what happened that changed our desperate situation, but we obviously made it to shore. God was certainly protecting all of us that day. If I would have known how to pray then, I probably would have.

40:1 I waited and waited and waited for GOD. At last he looked; finally he listened.

2        He lifted me out of the ditch, pulled me from deep mud. He stood me up on a solid rock to make sure I wouldn’t slip.

3        He taught me how to sing the latest God-song, a praise-song to our God.

More and more people are seeing this: they enter the mystery, abandoning themselves to GOD.

4          Blessed are you who give yourselves over to GOD, turn your backs on the world’s “sure thing,” ignore what the world worships;

5        The world’s a huge stockpile of GOD wonders and God-thoughts. Nothing and no one comes close to you!

I start talking about you, telling what I know, and quickly run out of words. Neither numbers nor words account for you.

6          Doing something for you, bringing something to you— that’s not what you’re after.

Being religious, acting pious— that’s not what you’re asking for. You’ve opened my ears so I can listen.

7          So I answered, “I’m coming. I read in your letter what you wrote about me, and I’m coming to the party you’re throwing for me.”

That’s when God’s Word entered my life, became part of my very being

9          I’ve preached you to the whole congregation, I’ve kept back nothing, GOD—you know that.

10        I didn’t keep the news of your ways a secret, didn’t keep it to myself. I told it all, how dependable you are, how thorough.

I didn’t hold back pieces of love and truth for myself alone. I told it all, let the congregation know the whole story.

11          Now GOD, don’t hold out on me, don’t hold back your passion. Your love and truth are all that keeps me together.

While experiencing difficulties at the hands of his enemies, the psalmist, David, asked God for help, but the answer did not come immediately. He waited and then God worked. After God saved David from his enemies, you will notice that David spent much time telling others of the great things God had done.

When was the last time that you told someone you were lucky? In what way did you see it as luck that saved you? How would you describe the difference between luck and God’s provision or blessing upon you? If someone is spared from some devastating mishap, how do you determine whether it is luck or God’s doing?  Have a day!

In Conversation with a child today: Ask a child to tell you what luck is and where luck comes from

Remember in Prayer: Heidi, Kristin, Barbara, Bart, Karen, Terecia, Jim, Angela, Tim, Heidi, Jeremy, Dick, Diane, Frank & Jean, Carolyn & family, Dennis, Barb, Sue, Michael Paul’s mother, Vivian

And those experiencing loss – family & friends of: Nita, Nancy, Edward, Doris, Angela

Prayer: We love you, O God, and thank you for this day. Thank you for walking with us and surrounding us with your protection. Guide us in our conversations with others and help us to always give you honor and glory and thanks for all that you do. Amen

Your E-Votional Servant 

Lucia

© 2017 Lucia Oerter

All rights reserved

Email Lucia

The Message Bible – contemporary translation

A ministry at Pines Presbyterian Church, 12751 Kimberley Lane, Houston, TX

 

Explore posts in the same categories: God Stuff

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.